Breakfast! It’s grrreat!

18 Dec

Breakfast, by far, is my favourite meal of the day. Nothing kicks off a great day quite like a yummy breakfasts that hits the spot. So, in commemoration of this glorious, but oft forgotten meal, I compiled some of my favourite breakfast recipes.

1. Oatmeal – spend 20 minutes cooking oatmeal from scratch or spend 20 seconds microwaving the instant kind. I personally find plain oatmeal kind of gross, but I love it mixed in with some honey, cinnamon, nuts, raisins, banana, and/or berries. Prep time: varies.

2. Pancakes – ZOMG pancakes first thing in the morning?? I’m not religious, but it is truly a gift from god. I only have time for these on the weekends, because it takes a bit longer to make than the others. Here’s a great pancakes recipe I use:

  • 1  cup  all-purpose flour
  • 2  tablespoons  sugar
  • 1  teaspoon  baking powder
  • 1/2  teaspoon  baking soda
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1  cup  skim milk
  • 1  teaspoon  olive oil
  • 1  large egg, lightly beaten

Mix and spoon onto the skillet. The original recipe says it’ll make 9 pancakes, but it only turns out to be around 5 for me. :S Prep time: 20 minutes

3. Parfait – a fancy word for a simple dish. Bust out some yogurt, chop up some fruit (berries, banana, peaches, and exotic fruits work well), add in a handful of nuts and you got yourself a parfait! Drizzle honey if your yogurt has no flavour. Prep time: 5 minutes

4. Muffins/quick bread – I’ve made so many muffins/quick breads over the last few years, I couldn’t even begin to find the best recipe to post. I’ll go with a tried and true recipe, and save the fancy ones for a later post devoted especially to muffins. :]

Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins

  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cups quick-cooking oats
  • 1 1/2 cups skim milk
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups fresh blueberries

Mix dry ingredients, mix wet ingredients in separate bowl, then pour the two mixes together, and mix some more. Then fold the blueberries into the batter and MIX SOME MORE. Then spoon the batter into greased muffin cups and pop into the oven at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes. Poke a toothpick into the centre of the muffin, and if it comes out clean, then you got yourself some done muffins! Then wait for muffins to cool, and it’s time for some muffin luvin’. =] Prep time: 30-35 minutes, but make a batch in one go and you got yourself breakfast for the rest of the week!

*to make blueberry bread instead of muffins, pour the batter into a bread pan and bake for 35-45 minutes, depending on what kind of pan you have

5. Omelet – crack open 3 eggs, bust out some low-fat cheese, and chop up some veggies (mushrooms, asparagus, bell pepper, tomatoes, and zucchini are all good) the night before and you’re ready to wake up and whip up a delicious omelet the next morning. Warning: if you’re anything like me, your omelet will become scrambled eggs half the time. xD Prep time: 15 minutes, if you cut up the veggies the night before

6. PB&B Sandwich – peanut butter and banana sandwich. I used to carry one of these in my purse at ALL TIMES. I was obsessed, haha. It’s a good way to tide me over between meals when I’m out and about. But I first fell in love with them when I started having them for breakfast. I don’t think I need to put in a recipe for this, since it’s pretty self explanatory. Toast a couple of slices of whole wheat bread, slab on some PB, cut up half a banana into slices, and cram the other half in your mouth. Ta-da! A delicious and nutritious breakfast/snack. =] Prep time: 5 minutes

7. Cereal – an oldie but a goodie. =] With all the bad hype about cereal crammed with sodium/sugar/fat, it’s taken me a while to find a few healthy brands that still pack in nutrition. My favs? Kashi Go Lean and Kashi Crunch. I’d recommend these for health nuts, because most people I’ve talked to think it tastes like cardboard. I like it, but only sprinkled with toppings like fruit, raisins and nuts. Prep time: 1 min :p

And there you go! Your day is off to a great start with a great breakfast. Got your own beloved recipes? Please share! :]

Leave a Reply

