Peak Condition

7 Jan

To kick off my 2010 resolutions series, my 12 goals for physical well-being. One per month. I invite you guys to do any of the challenges alongside me. πŸ™‚

1. Stretch everyday

Stretching always makes me feel good, and it’s one of those things that I never make time for. To kick off my resolve, I’ve even booked a room at work 3 times a week to use for stretching during my lunch, haha. xD

2. 100 push-ups challenge

I’m going to challenge my boss to see who can reach 100 push-ups first, haha. I better not get fired if I win. πŸ˜› My personal max has been 77 push-ups, back in my peak condition (at least in terms of arm/chest strength) when I was doing dragon boat. I don’t k now how many I can do now. I hope it’s more than 50, or else this is going to be a helluva long and arduous road. xD

3. No packaged foods

I want to see if I truly do feel more cleansed and energetic if I try to eat only “fresh” and “unprocessed” for a month.

4. One new food per day

Even though I get a pretty balanced diet, I know that there are tonnsssss of foods out there that I’ve never tried yet. I want to try a total of 30 new foods this month! πŸ˜€

Foods on my list so far: almond paste, artichokes, quinoa, tempeh, almond milk, agave nectar, rutabaga, red lentils, figs, turmeric, and swiss chard. If you guys have any suggestions, lemme know!!! πŸ™‚

5. Bike to work

o_o I’ll have to see if this is physically feasible or not, lol. For those who don’t know, I live in Markham and work in Richmond Hill. I’m about 9kms away from work. Actually now that I think about it, that’s 18km of biking per day… yeah I don’t know about this, lol. I don’t even have a bike, haha! I’ll try it and if it’s epic fail, I have a backup goal (be caffeine-free for a month).

6. 10,000 steps a day

The standard recommended by health professionals for leading an “active” lifestyleΒ  is 10,000 steps a day*.Β  I got a pedometer – my boss’s influence – and I’ve been using it for a couple of weeks and I really have to strive to reach 10,000 steps a day. I’ll aim to hit this mark every day for a month. If anyone is seriously up for doing the challenge along with me, just holler (leave a comment) and I’ll give you a free pedometer! πŸ˜€

7. Eat local

I don’t mean local restaurants, I mean buying foods that were grown locally from farmers markets. Positive effects include environmental friendliness, healthier, and fresher, and of course, helping our local farmers. πŸ˜‰ And trust me, farmers are very local to me (don’t make me post more pictures of farmland outside my house, lolz).

8. 25 foods a day

My dad told me a story the other day about the prime minister of China, who has a nutritionist that plans meals for him that contain at least 25 different foods each day, and that’s his secret to staying healthy. I don’t know if it’s true or not, but it doesn’t matter, because I found the story to be more humourous than inspiring. Anyway, I’ll try it out for a month and see how it goes. ^-^

9. Exercise in the morning

A beast I have yet to tame. And trust me, I’ve tried. I’ve gone to sleep at 11pm and set my alarm to wake up at 7am and all I can muster up the resolve to do is get up, put on my sweats, switch on my mp3 player and fall back asleep. πŸ˜›

10. 8 hours of sleep a day

I usually get bout 7-8 hours of sleep per day anyway, but I’ll aim to hit at least 8 per day this month. πŸ™‚

11. Floss

Everyday. The last time I saw a dentist, she said that I have a mild case of gingivitis (or pre-gingivitis, something like that). 😦 Flossing is so difficult for me because I have a retainer (kind of like braces in the back of my teeth) that I have to weave it in and out of.

12. Supplements

I plan to track my food intake for at least a month (I’ll intro you guys to a cool tool for this later) and pull the monthly report to see if I’m deficient in any nutrients, then make a plan to eat more of foods that provide them. I hope I won’t reach the stage where I have to take supplements to get there, but we’ll see. πŸ™‚

Take care of your body and your body will take care of you. ~ the guy from P90X (lol!)

There’s no time like the present to make changes for better physical health!!! πŸ™‚

6 Responses to “Peak Condition”

  1. Mason January 8, 2010 at 4:48 am #

    I will do the 10,000 steps challenge!!

    I’ve always been curious about how many steps i take in a day, workouts included.

  2. daisyjiang January 8, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    Ooo, excellent! I’ll arrange a time to give you the pedometer next time I go downtown! =)

  3. Mason January 9, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    Drop me an email! (i don’t get notifications when you post here lol)

    • daisyjiang January 11, 2010 at 12:59 am #

      How did you get this one then?? loll

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 12 Goals For A Beautiful Mind « ilikestuffs. - January 13, 2010

    […] Home 12 Goals for a Healthier Body […]

  2. Chicken Soup « ilikestuffs. - January 15, 2010

    […] my 12 goals for physical and intellectual health also. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Chicken Soup for the […]

Leave a Reply

