A Beautiful Mind

13 Jan

My 2010 intellectual pursuits and conquests for mental organization! One per month. πŸ™‚

JANUARY: Top 3 To-Do Lists

Yeah, I’m one of those people who enjoy the satisfaction of crossing something off of a to-do list. So much so that some days, I continue to add things to my to-do list just so I can cross it off! It’s time to lessen my load. I’m going to make a list of top 3 things I want to accomplish for the day, and once I get those done, chillax the rest of the day. πŸ™‚

FEBRUARY: Write a letter in Chinese

For my grandparents. Oh, the generational gap. 😦 I’ve always had an extremely difficult time communicating with my extended family in China, but especially my grandparents, since they don’t speak standard Mandarin and always speak to me in a dialect so thick, I usually have no idea what they’re saying. 😐 I guess I could try snail mail, write them a big long letter telling them what’s going on in my life, they always seem to want to know. I’ll aim to do this by Chinese New Year, hence my February goal. πŸ˜‰

MARCH: Branch-out with books

I remember how much I used to love reading with I was a kid. Then high school and university hit, and the last thing I wanted to do was pick up another book during my free time. I’m trying to get back into reading again. My plan? To get my friends to recommend books for me to read. More on this later. πŸ˜‰

APRIL: Moreover, with movies

Same as above, but with movies. Once again, I’ll draw upon my friends’ diverse tastes to recommend their favourite movie for me to watch. More on this later. πŸ™‚

MAY: Financial planning

I’m finally making money instead of spending it, w00t! πŸ˜€ It’s time I start formulating some kind of long-term plan for my finance, since myolder friends tell me that not doing so when they were younger is one of their biggest regrets.

JUNE: Unitask πŸ™‚

No more multitasking!!! It definitely makes me less productive overall, and contributes to my short attention span. 😦

JULY: Political learning

I’ve spent my whole life being apathetic about political affairs, and I guess I always told myself that I had better things to do with my time than learn about that stuff. This year, I’ll uphold my responsibilities to be an educated participant for positive change in this society by at least learning the basics, at least enough to be equipped to make an educated vote. πŸ˜€

JULY: Unplug myself

Minimize time spent in front of the computer after work.

AUGUST: Music-less at work

This is going to be the killer resolution for me. xD I’m pretty addicted to music. Sometimes I feel like I can’t be alone in a room by myself without having music to fill the space. But I do notice that the few times I’ve been void of music, I concentrate better and work more efficiently.

SEPTEMBER: TED once a day

A lotta good stuff on this website (www.ted.com). I always learn really cool stuff from these videos, but I never can make the time to watch them because they’re so goddamn long and I have a short attention span. xD

NOVEMBER: Read one news article a day

Hopefully it’ll become a habit that sticks.

DECEMBER: Reduce my carbon footprint

YAYYY and those are my intellectual pursuits for the year!!! πŸ˜€ If you haven’t already, read my 12 for a healthy body. πŸ˜‰

One Response to “A Beautiful Mind”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chicken Soup « ilikestuffs. - January 15, 2010

    […] Home A Beautiful Mind […]

Leave a Reply

