break up songs (:

18 Jan

A good friend of mine asked me for some good break-up songs, and since I myself just rebounded from a relationship and  still had my stash of break-up songs readily available, I thought I’d share it. For some reason or another, thinking back on it, I actually end up giving my friends break up songs a lot, lol. xD

Separated them out into subcategories:

Clearly Not Over You

Alicia Keys – Doesn’t Mean Anything

Mariah Carey – We Belong Together

Melanie Fiona – Please Don’t Go/Crybaby

Black Eyed Peas – Missing You

Jesse McCartney – How Do You Sleep

John Mayer – Friends, Lovers, or Nothing*

Ne-Yo – So Sick

Kanye West – Welcome To Heartbreak

Leona Lewis – Better In Time*

Hatin’ On The Ex

All American Rejects – Gives You Hell

Kanye West – Heartless

Mariah Carey – H.A.T.E.U./It’s A Wrap/Up Out My Face

Monica – Knock Knock

Pussycat Dolls – Hush Hush

Rihanna – Breakin’ Dishes/Stupid In Love

Miley Cyrus – 7 Things

Jazmine Sullivan – Bust Your Windows

Beyonce – Irreplaceable

Rihanna – Take A Bow

Taylor Swift – Picture To Burn

Leona Lewis – Best You Never Had*

Amerie – Dear John

Heartbreak Hotel

Lady Gaga – Brown Eyes

Beyonce – Broken Hearted Girl*

Alicia Keys – Try Sleeping With A Broken Heart*

Amy Winehouse – Love Is A Losing Game/Tears Dry On Their Own

Kelly Clarkson – Already Gone

Mariah Carey – Angels Cry

Michelle Branch – Goodbye To You

Nelly Furtado – All Good Things

NLT – He Said, She Said (Time We Let Go)

Omarion – Ice Box

Pussycat Dolls – Hate This Part

Jordin Sparks – Was I The Only One*

Alicia Keys – Love Is Blind*

Ciara – Never Ever*

Lauryn Hill – When It Hurts So Bad

John Mayer – Slow Dancing In A Burning Room/Dreaming With A Broken Heart

Kelly Clarkson – The Trouble With Love Is

Nelly Furtado – What I Wanted

Keane – We Might As Well Be Strangers

Taylor Swift – Breathe/Forever & Always

Better Off Without You

Alicia Keys ft. John Mayor – Lesson Learned

Amerie – Swag Back/Different People

Kristina DeBarge – Goodbye*

Mariah Carey – Thanks 4 Nothin/For The Record

Melanie Fiona – Walk On By

Ne-Yo – Ain’t Thinking About You/Go On Girl

Paula DeAnda – Walk Away

Pink – So What

Pussycat Dolls – Halo/Space

Kelly Clarkson – Since U Been Gone/Walk Away

Boys Like Girls – Love Drunk

Taylor Swift – The Way I Loved You

John Legend – Used To Love U

Jesse McCartney – Leavin’

Katherine McPhee – Over It

Leona Lewis – Happy

John Mayor – Perfectly Lonely

Beyonce – Me, Myself & I

Frou Frou – Let Go*

Empowering/Upbeat

Michael Buble – Just Haven’t Met You Yet*

Ne-Yo – Miss Independent

Good Charlotte – I Don’t Wanna Be In Love*

Beyonce – Single Ladies

The Ting Tings – Shut Up And Let Me Go

KT Tunstall – Suddenly I See

Lady Gaga – Eh Eh (Nothing Else I Can Say)

Pussycat Dolls – I Don’t Need A Man*/Watcha Think About That

Fall Out Boy – Thnks Fr Th Mmrs

Shakira – Did It Again

Taylor Swift – Stay Beautiful


Miscellaneous

Lady Gaga – Wonderful

Coldplay – The Scientist

Jordin Sparks – Papercut

Keri Hilson – Energy

Jesse McCartney – It’s Over

Jordin Sparks – No Parade

Christina Aguilera – Impossible

Maxwell – Pretty Wings

Coldplay – Warning Sign

Leona Lewis – Stop Crying Your Heart Out (Oasis cover)

Just reformatted my computer and installed Windows 7 (ok, Coolin did all that, lol) so my available music collection didn’t leave room for a lot of variety,  so I pulled together the best list that I could. Enjoy! 😀

ps. don’t worry about the weird formatting and the stars, it’s code 😉

11 Responses to “break up songs (:”

  1. Chungtron January 19, 2010 at 2:50 am #

    “Rebounded” from a relationship?
    I think that technically implies that you’re now in a new relationship.

    … Or are you?

    • daisyjiang January 19, 2010 at 2:53 am #

      Does it? I only meant that I’ve emotionally recovered from the break-up.

      … Or did I? lol

    • Coolin January 20, 2010 at 11:59 am #

      I agree with Chung. Rebound seems like the wrong word here unless there’s something interesting we don’t know about. >:D

  2. Mason January 19, 2010 at 3:00 am #

    oh man. songs a girl listens to after a breakup are waaaaay different from what guys listen to.
    lol.

    • daisyjiang January 21, 2010 at 12:47 am #

      really, lol. what do guys listen to?

  3. Yunjie January 19, 2010 at 1:10 am #

    Thanks for the comprehensive list, Daisy!

    I find myself liking/not liking songs more based on the overall feel of the song rather than the correspondence between the lyrics and my feelings/situation 😛 I tend to enjoy the ones by female singers with a rhythmical/soulful tune and positive (but somewhat realistic) lyrics 🙂

    I don’t know why the one I like the most is still Better in Time (Leona Lewis) ^^; From your list, of the ones I’ve listened to so far, I like:

    – Stay Beautiful (Taylor Swift)
    – Suddenly I See (KT Tunstall)
    – Miss Independent (Ne-Yo)
    – All Good Things (Nelly Furtado)
    (I’ve already found this song therapeutic for some reason – it’s like the relief of finally being able to accept something you’d always known but didn’t want to admit?)
    – Just Haven’t Met You Yet (Michael Buble)
    – Already Gone (Kelly Clarkson).

    Btw I also love the chorus of Starts with a Goodbye by Carrie Underwood – I got it stuck in my head yesterday, lol.

    Which ones are your faves?

    • daisyjiang January 19, 2010 at 10:21 am #

      Some of my favs are
      – Irreplaceable (Beyonce)
      – We Belong Together (Mariah)
      – The Scientist (Coldplay)
      – Stay Beautiful (Taylor Swift, such a positive and happy song! :))

      I’m glad you enjoyed them. 🙂

      I’ll check out the Carrie Underwood song, I think I have her album, but I don’t remember that song.

      • Yunjie January 19, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

        ohh I liked all of your faves, too! It’s just I never knew they were actually break-up songs, lol. Recently I realized I usually don’t pay too much attention to a song’s lyrics XD

        I mentioned this to you before but I also like White Horse by Taylor Swift and Big Girls Don’t Cry by Fergie (I discovered that I liked it when I heard you sing it at karaoke this past summer, haha. The theme of the song is kinda like my poem in that it’s ultimately about you treating yourself well^^).

        btw, speaking of Taylor Swift, like a month ago I took this FB quiz called “which Taylor Swift song are you?” and got “Teardrops on my guitar.” The first line of the description said:

        The guys you tend to like are your close guy friends and sometimes are already in relationships.

        I thought, wow, those random quizzes can be scarily accurate sometimes! 😛

        • daisyjiang January 19, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

          I find that I’m more of a lyricist than most people I know, although it surprises me, because I’m still a lot more prone to enjoying the musicality of a song more than the lyrics. I guess it just goes to show you how little people care about lyrics. 😛

          Btw, the lyrics of your poem far surpasses Fergie’s lyrics. 🙂

  4. Joan January 19, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    holy! nice list! will check these out sometime.
    also love your monthly resolutions post!
    im gonna steal it sometime hahaha
    love your blog! keep it up! ❤

Leave a Reply

