5 Fun Health Tools

20 Jan

I guarantee you’ll have fun playing around with these tools, hehe. 🙂

1. BMI Calculator – MayoClinic. BMI is one of the most basic calculations. For newbs, BMI uses height and weight to measure body fat, but for anyone who gets an abnormal amount of exercise – ie. has a larger muscle to fat ratio – this number could be a total miscalculation of how healthy your weight is. For the normies, it’s a good place to start. 🙂 My BMI is 21.7, I’m very average, hehe. Calculate your own BMI on MayoClinic! Est. time: 2 minutes.

2. 100 Calories Quiz – think you know what 100 calories looks like? Go find out. 😉 I scored 19/24. Est. time: 5 minutes.

3. Daily Needs Calculator – NutritionData.com. you can use this tool to calculate roughly how many calories you need to maintain your current weight. The estimation is based on your gender, height, weight, exercise habits   For example, I need 1899 calories per day to maintain my current weight. Never a day goes by that I don’t eat more than 2000 cal, and I still pretty much stay the same weight… so obviously there are other factors at play that this simple calculator can’t account for, but still – a good starting point. 🙂 Est. time: 2 minutes.

4. RealAge – it’s a tool that measures what your “real age” is according to your family health history, your lifestyle habits, the state of your personal relationships, and your diet and fitness. The results come with a detailed outline of how well you’re doing in each field, and includs tips about how you can “live younger”. 🙂 My RealAge is 20.6 btw, and my biological age is 22.4, hehe. Take the test and see what your RealAge is! Est. time: 15 minutes (but totally worth it!)

5. Nutrition By The Numbers -a different perspective on evaluating how “healthy” a food is. How exactly do you define how “healthy” a food is? Nuval is – supposedly – a breakthrough method of measuring that.  Take their quiz  to see if you can tell. I think I scored a 64 when I took it a couple of weeks ago. Est. time: 7 minutes.


All 5 of these are one-time use tools to help you get started in leading a healthier life. Mostly, they’re just for fun though. Feel free to drop a line and tell me your scores. 😉

I’ll introduce you to some more hardcore ones for maintaining a long-term healthy lifestyle later. 😀

4 Responses to “5 Fun Health Tools”

  1. Coolin January 21, 2010 at 2:13 am #

    22.0 BMI

    15/24 on Snacking – and they actually called me a smart snacker… I felt like I got so many of them wrong.

    RealAge requires a signup. 😦

    Too lazy for the rest right now. Maybe I’ll try later when it’s not past 2AM.

  2. daisyjiang January 21, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    Oo we have similar BMI, lol. Mine was actually higher than I expected. I thought I’d be on the lower range of “normal”. I thought wrong. 😛

    I know, RealAge is kind of groaannn I don’t wanna get spammed, but I signed up a while ago, and haven’t gotten spammed yet (at least, if you uncheck the boxes).

  3. Lulu January 23, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    20.9 BMI

    I got 24.9 for my age cuz I do no exercise and I wasn’t sure how much servings of food I ate XD I guess exercising will be my area to work on… any suggestions of exercises I can do at home? I have no time to go outside or go to the gym right now ><

Leave a Reply

