My role model

10 Feb

There are tons of people that have qualities that I admire, but never before has anyone, in my eyes, possessed the whole package with as much visibility as Michelle Obama has. She shows up pretty much everything that I follow because I’m usually reading stuff that has to do with fitness, health, and nutrition, and that’s all up her alley. I watched her public announcement on CNN two days ago about her campaign to fight childhood obesity and that pretty much cemented it… I’ve found my role model. =)

Michelle Obama’s “Let’s Move” Campaign

Her dream to lead the country down a road of better health is probably the dream of countless others, only she’s in a much better position to do something about it. But there’s no discounting that she’s taking her public role seriously.

Her ability to engage and empower all of the constituencies that need to be involved to push this campaign – whether it be pediatricians, nutritionists, athletes, food corporations, or, of course, parents and children everywhere – is certainly impressive, if not unparallel.

Her obvious personal devotion to the cause is transparent, whether it be through her self-maintained backyard garden, her toned killer arms (woooo!), or guiding her own children in the right direction to make healthy decisions.

She shows that she understands how difficult it is for families to make this change, she recognizes and celebrates the people who have been fighting this cause on a small or personal scale for years and years and she encourages them to keep doing what they’ve been doing.

Mayors can build parks and bike lanes to promote daily physical activity. Pediatricians can identify children when they’re in the early stages of being at risk for childhood obesity. School district boards and principals can make the call to incorporate healthier choices into cafeterias. Athletes can encourage children to lead active lives through engaging in sports. There are so many angles you can take with this, and it seems like the “Lets Move” campaign is attempting to take them all.

And of course, most importantly, moms and dads can influence their kids on a day-to-day basis to lead healthy lives. This has always been a priority for my parents, and look how I turned out. YOU CAN’T ARGUE WITH RESULTS! haha! No, but seriously, a bit part of why I’m such a health freak is because of my parents, and I wholeheartedly thank them for that.

I’m actually very excited to see what kind of changes Michelle Obama – and her team – can make over the next few months and years. I’m also inspired to think about what I can do to take part…

Regardless of results, I’m glad that this issue is being brought up in such a visible and prominent manner. 😀

To kick it off, here is a commercial about breakfast. If this doesn’t get kids to eat breakfast, I don’t know what will.

roflcopter, jokes!! seriously though… I hope they do better than this, lol.

Here’s her official White House kick-off speech. Half an hour long, but I found it interesting…


Leave a Reply

