Happy Family Day!!!

15 Feb

Happy Family Day!!!

I’m cozying up with my fam for most of the day. Spending the morning baking with mum, and then we’re going to have some family friends over for the afternoon/dinner.

In commemoration of Family Day, here are some of my fav songs about family:

1. It Don’t Have To Change – John Legend

“Oh do you remember
When the family was everything?
Oh do you remember?
It was so long ago and so much has changed

It’s a song about the fondness of thinking back on childhood memories of family, and reflecting on how things are different now, but the love is still there. 🙂

2. Family Business – Kanye West

“I got an Aunt Ruth that can’t remember your name
But I bet them Polaroids’ll send her down memory lane
You know that one auntie, you don’t wanna be rude
But every holiday nobody eatin’ her food”

About the dysfunctionalities of family, and the love that’s there regardless. xD

3. The Best Day – Taylor Swift

“I don’t know who I’m gonna talk to
Now at school
I know I’m laughing on the car ride home with you
Don’t know how long it’s gonna take to feel okay
But I know I had the best day
With you today

A very cute song about a little girl and looking up to her dad. 🙂

4. Dance With My Father – Luther Vandross

“Back when I was a child
Before life removed all the innocence
My father would lift me high
And dance with my mother and me and then…”

Memories of a father gone.

5. Love For A Child – Jason Mraz

“And when the house was left in shambles
Who was there to handle all the broken bits of glass
Was it mom who put my dad out on his ass or the other way around
Well I’m far too old to care about that now”

Story of a mom and dad fighting to stay together for the sake of the child.

I hope everyone can make time to spend the day with their fam! And for those who’re geographically separated from their parents, I’m sure they’re just a call away. 😉

Anyone got any plans for the day? 😀

And if you’re bored:

Here are 10 reasons to appreciate your family.

And here are 10 cute Family Circus comics, hehe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

