LENT

17 Feb

Lent is here. I didn’t even remember until Lucy reminded me. I always thought Lent was later on in the year than this. Is life creeping up on me faster than ever?

This year, I’m giving up:

1. Swearing

I’m also giving up music with swear words in it. That’s probably 75% of my music collection. What does that say about me? πŸ˜› Say good-bye to Lil Wayne, Ludacris, T.I., and say hello to unoffensive new me! πŸ˜€

2. Lying

That’s right… lying. I’m still thinking about whether I’ll just give up self-serving lies or also the ones I make to protect other people’s feelings. Thoughts?

3. $1 a day.

That’s roughly how much gum I chew each day. Yeah… I have an unnatural obsession with chewing gum. It’s like I always need to have something in my mouth, so if I’m not eating or drinking, I’m chewing gum. Of course, I’ll figure out a place to donate the money I saved. Perhaps Skip1.org, which is a great organization that encourages people to skip the unnecessary things in life to donate that money to people in need.

~~~

So what about you guys? Anything you’re giving up for Lent?

4 Responses to “LENT”

  1. Chungtron February 17, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

    I’m giving up Facebook games since they’ve grown into a HUGE part of my computer time.
    Also, my blankies… since I realize that I’m now carrying them under my arm every waking (and sleeping) moment when I’m at home =P

    Great job on the no swearing… I hope it sticks πŸ˜‰

    Lying has never been a big problem for me… and in regards to protecting people’s feelings, there are strategic ways to do that without lying. It’s all about wording and charisma.

    And reducing luxuries to increase giving is always good ^^

    • Daisy February 18, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

      Oh I didn’t know you were that addicted. I keep hearing people talk about RestaurantCity and the farming one, lol. Some of my friends kept pushing me to sign up for RestaurantCity just so I can give them my items. xD

      I didn’t peg you for a blankie person, haha.

      I think I’ll start a swearing jar to put in $1 every time I have a slip of the tongue. πŸ˜›

      Lying shouldn’t have that problem though… since I would actually have to put in a conscious effort to concoct a lie, so it’s not really something that would “accidentally happen”.

      We’ll see, we’ll see, haha.

  2. baobao February 18, 2010 at 12:28 am #

    i need to give up on swearing.

    • Daisy February 18, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

      Tina, I almost never hear you swear, haha.

Leave a Reply

