Oscars are here, which means… movie nights!!! :D

17 Feb

Hello friends: I’m looking for movie buddies! See my list of movies below! (:

March 7th is Oscars Night! =) I’ve always thought that Oscar-buzz movies aren’t generally my cup of tea, but looking back on the previous years’ winners (Slumdog Millionaire, The Departed, Crash, Million Dollar Baby, LOTR, Chicago), I realize that all of my favourite movies have been Oscar winners, lol.

Plus, since I’ve already seen half of the list of nominees for Best Picture, I figure I’m already a good way into my goal for watching all 10 (although the fact that there are 10 nominees means I still have just as many movies to watch as there are usually nominees for that category… 5, lol).

Movies I’ve seen:

Avatar. My rating: 8.5/10

Precious. My rating: 7/10

UP! My rating: 10/10

Inglorious Basterds. My rating: 7/10

District 9. My rating: 6/10

Movies I haven’t seen:

(click on the titles to see the trailers!)

Up In The Air:

Ryan Bingham is a corporate downsizer who spends his days in hotels, airports, and airplanes as he travels around the country laying off other companies’ workers with polished finesse. His pursuit of a life without emotional connections is called into question, however, by his interactions with two women, one a sophisticated fellow traveler and the other an inexperienced young colleague. Intriguing trailer, Yunjie said it was good, I liked “Thank You For Smoking” and “Juno”, and this storyline seems kind of similar to the former, so I’m looking forward to watching it! πŸ™‚

The Blind Side:

African-American teenager Michael Oher has been in and out of the foster care system throughout his difficult childhood. When suburban mom Leigh Anne Tuohy, whose children are Michael’s schoolmates, discovers him living on the streets, he gains a home with the Tuohy family and receives the stability and encouragement he needs to develop his talents as a football player. Another interesting trailer, plus I like Sandra Bullock, so I’m looking forward to this as well. πŸ˜€

An Education:

When Jenny, a 16-year-old English schoolgirl, finds herself the object of a calculated seduction by a charming older man, she is by turns wary, flattered, and disarmed by his interest. As their relationship develops, Jenny is drawn deeper into a sophisticated world of wealth and style that may be too good to be true. Looks like a good coming-of-age story, plus the actors seem decent, so I’m sure it’ll be worth a watch… πŸ™‚

The Hurt Locker:

As the war in Iraq continues, Staff Sgt. William James carries out one of the most dangerous of all military assignments: bomb defusing. While James thrives on the job’s risks, the head of his support team, Sgt. JT Sanborn, becomes increasingly worried by what he feels is a growing recklessness in James’s behavior. This doesn’t seem like my kind of movie… but I accidentally started watching it on my iPod touch (lol, when I was trying to figure out how it worked) and the suspense was actually very encapsulating, so I’m definitely going to finish it off.

A Serious Man:

In a series of escalating personal catastrophes, physics professor Larry Gopnik finds himself facing an unfaithful wife, ungrateful children, a troubled brother-in-law and poison pen letters at work. But Gopnik is a fundamentally decent man, and he tries, with increasing despair, to respond rationally and fairly to trials befitting a modern-day Job. This is probably the movie I’d least want to see out of this entire list… the trailer didn’t seem interesting and I’ve never really liked any of the Coen brothers’ other works… but I’ll watch it just to FINISH THIS LIST!!! πŸ˜›

Any takers? If you wanna watch any of these movies with me, throw me a line!!! ღβ™₯ღ

Cheers!

5 Responses to “Oscars are here, which means… movie nights!!! :D”

  1. Yunjie February 9, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

    yay you mentioned me in your blog, I’m honoured =D I’d definitely watched all 10 of them at some point – let me know your opinions of those films you haven’t watched once you watch them! An Education and The Blind Side had excellent reviews from my friends, so hopefully you’ll enjoy them =)

    btw I wasn’t too fond of Precious, either, despite the hype surrounding it =P Although the film was generally well-made, that particular Sunday morning my friends dragged me to the theatre I was in the mood for something lighthearted and comical, and this film was the exact opposite. But it did make me seriously think about the large poverty gap in the US, and the sad fact that for some people, the “best” they’ll ever attain in their life (objectively speaking, at least) is still a lot worse than the life we take for granted.

    • Daisy February 9, 2010 at 11:20 pm #

      Precious is definitely one of those movies you have to be in the mood for watching. I wasn’t prepared to watch a movie with that tonality either. Let’s say – at the least – it made me appreciate the relationship I have with my family…. lol. :\ I actually had a very disturbing dream the night after I saw the movie… I won’t elaborate. xD

      If there’s any that you’d like to watch with me, let me know! I’m watching Up In The Air with Coolin and The Blind Side with Lucy, so jump on board, or any of the others would be good too. πŸ™‚

  2. Yunjie February 9, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    *I’d definitely love to watch all 10 of them

    …I always seem to forget that posts on your blog are not deletable, unlike FB comments :S Gotta proofread my posts more carefully in the future XD

  3. Aaron February 18, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    You have a blog!? LOL! Oh boy…watch Up in the Air! Definitely! The greatest movie i’ve seen all year.

    It’s a giant inuendo and the jokes are well timed.

    • Daisy February 18, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

      I saw it just last week! It was very entertaining, I highly enjoyed it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

