The Summer I Was 88lbs

14 Apr

In January 2007, my dad had the great idea of everyone in the family recording our weight at the beginning of every month. I thought it was uber lame 3 years ago, but now, it’s kind of interesting to look back on it and reflect.

Every high and low point on this chart has a story. The most interesting one, needless to say, is point B.

I was 88lbs summer of ’07. That’s right… 88lbs.

How did this happen???

Well, I took up exercising with a fervour. And it was cardio only. Unlike most people, I actually love to run. I could plug into my mp3 player and run and run and run non-stop. And that’s what I did that summer, lol. Plus, I got into the habit of biking or walking to get to most places, and would regularly take walks during breaks at work to stretch my legs.

Along the way, I picked up a lot of small habits that contributed to living a more active lifestyle.

Sounds good so far, right?

I also started paying attention to what I ate too. I would refuse to eat white rice, and cook my own brown rice for dinner, much to my parents’ annoyance. This is also when I started eating 6 small meals a day, bought only low-fat & low-sugar packaged foods, cut my sodium intake down, and made my own food so I would know exactly what I was eating…

So nothing out-of-the-ordinary for any healthy person, I guess.

But within months, my weight dropped to 88lbs. I got my body fat percentage checked 3 times (since it can be inaccurate sometimes) and it averaged 7%… which is freakishly low for a female. Long story short, I went to the doctor to get myself checked… from TSH results, my doctor told me that I actually have a very slow metabolism (hypothyroidism or hyperthyroidism? I can’t remember which one), so it was quite the opposite of what I expected the test results to show.

At this point, I was incredibly confused, but since I couldn’t really blame my thyroid for the weight loss, I figure I had to be doing something wrong. So I did the stupidest thing I could’ve done. I just stopped exercising and ate nothing but unhealthy food for weeks. Within a couple of months, my weight skyrocketed back to normal (I also felt like crap, like those actors who have to gain 50lbs of weight to play a fat-guy role, lol).

I slowly brought my eating habits back to normal, keeping most of the same dietary habits as before. In order to prevent weight drop again, I took up strength training (finally!). I bought a 5lbs and 10lbs set of weights and slowly incorporated strength training into my routine.

I still love to run (in fact I’m doing 10K of it in a couple of weeks ;)) but I’m also doing strength training now more so than ever. It’s a little addictive, actually. I totally understand the mentality of the girl who’s afraid to turn into the hulk if she picks up a dumbbell twice a week – I was that girl at one point. But no longer! 😀

To this day, I still don’t know what I was doing wrong 3 years ago that made me lose so much weight. Maybe just overdoing the health craze thing? I don’t know if it can be attributed to that much weight loss though. I mean, my habits back then are pretty similar to my habits now.

Hmm… mysteries of the world.

Anyhooo, so there’s a chunk of my life that’s no longer yet to be told. 😉

Cheers!

5 Responses to “The Summer I Was 88lbs”

  1. Coolin April 14, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

    Needs more description of what point A, B, C, D, E, and F correspond to. Are they just local maxima/minima? Any more interesting stories associated with them?

    • Daisy April 15, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

      Yeah I have stories associated with non-B points as well… I just got tired by the end of this post, so another time, another time.

  2. Lulu April 15, 2010 at 1:08 am #

    slow metabolism would = hypothyroidism… but hypothyroisidm is associated with weight GAIN…

    • Daisy April 15, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

      That’s right, that’s why I was so confused about why I would have hypothyroidism and still be losing weight. :S I expected hyperthyroidism, but nope…

  3. Lan Li April 15, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    i still don’t believe you have almost the same weight as mine now, cuz i look fatter than you~ XD but 88lb back in 2007 is kinda scary O_o

Leave a Reply

