Live Large, Think Big [Dallas Trip]

21 Apr

Arriving in Dallas. We were greeted with thundershowers. 😦

At least it’s nice and warm here, feels kind of tropic. But boo the rain, means we won’t be able to walk around to explore at night. We shared a large taxi van with a few other people from the airport and the guy sitting next to me taught me a thing or two about Dallas. He told me that Dallas is very commerce-oriented and isn’t a party at all, and that I’ll have to go to Austin or something for that kind of ish. Boo.

When we finally got to our hotel, we found out that there was the Worl Balloon Convention was going on so there were giant balloon statues all over the place, haha! xD  I wanted to go see it, but it was already 9pm and we were all famished, so we went to our rooms to unpack and freshen up for dinner.

Based on the recommendation of this WONDERFUL lady at the concierge, we decided to go to Dakota’s Steakhouse, a really nice restaurant nearby. Even though it was close, we took a cab because it was pouring rain. The cab ride there was SO JOKES. The cab driver was so out of it, definitely on something, haha. It took him 5 minutes just to key in the address of the restaurant on the GPS, even though it was only like a 2 minute drive away. The ride only spanned like 3-4 streets, and two of them were one-way streets and he went the WRONG WAY on both of them! LOL I would’ve been really concerned for my safety if it weren’t for the fact that it was hilarious because my boss kept yelling at him to turn around but the cab driver was saying, don’t worry this’ll get you there faster! LOLL oh man… haha. It DID get us there a lot faster, but so dangerous. 😛

The restaurant we went to was really nice. It was underground and you have to take a golden elevator into the ground to get to the restaurant. It was also overlooking a small waterfall and there was a piano man providing ambiance music. The food was A-MAZ-ING! I had this crab cake appetizer that zomg just melted in my mouth, it was so tender and juicy. I was the only one who didn’t get steak. I got the buffalo dish and it was the first time I’ve had real buffalo. I’m not so much into game, but the dish was pretty satisfying, so can’t complain. =D

By the time we finished dinner, it was already 11ish, so we just walked around a bit since the rain had died down by then. Apparently there was nothing to do near our area except sports bars and clubs and I want to watch the game or club with my boss (how awkward is that, lol), so we turned in for the night.

So now, I’m just chilling in my room watching anime on TV (Bleach & FMA), while ironing my clothes for tomorrow and jumping between the beds, lol.

Hotel room’s pretty nice. It’s just a Sheraton, which is a lower class hotel than the Westin that I stayed at last time, but this one is actually nicer than the Westin because it’s a new hotel, so the decor is more modern. Plus it’s got fancy mandarin and mint shampoo and body lotion, which I’m feeling lolz.

Gonna finish up some work and call it a night pretty soon. Waking up at 7:30am tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

