Speechless

15 Jun

I started losing my voice about a week ago, and I chalked it up to the beginnings of a cold for a few days, until I realized that I didn’t really have any symptoms of one except for the coughing and hoarseness of voice.

I was planning on seeing a doctor at the end of last week, but after taking it easy for a few days, my symptoms seem to have eased, so I didn’t. I finally saw a doctor yesterday, and he told me that alcohol, caffeine, and lack of sleep are all inhibitory to my recovery. Which perfectly explains why my condition worsened so much after the weekend: I didn’t get any sleep Friday or Saturday night – a long story, one that shan’t be told – and I certainly didn’t avoid alcohol or caffeine.

Sigh. And now I’m back in the office, completely mute, even worse than the previous week. This time, I’m pretty dedicated to nursing my throat back to health, because I really want to be able to talk by Centre Island. I’m not going to croak through meetings like I did last week, I’m not going to pick up any phone calls, and I’m on antibiotics for a week. I already told my parents, friends and co-workers not to talk to me.

Believe it or not, life is super lonely when no one talks to you. xD It’s only the 2nd day, and I’m just dying of boredom. Yesterday, I went out to lunch with my co-workers and they all made fun of me for being mute. Today, they took me out for ice cream to make up for it, and then made fun of me some more about it. -__-”

Also, when I go shopping, the store clerks ask me questions and I just smile or nod at them and they give me a weird/concerned look and start using their “children voice” with me… I suspect they’re treating me in a condescending way because they think that I’m either retarded or mute, lol.

This is karma for having an irresponsible weekend. Can’t wait for this to be over. Learned my lesson.

Have a great weekend, chilluns! ❤

– Daze

One Response to “Speechless”

  1. Yunjie June 15, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

    You know, the same thing happened to my roomie Annie once, and she also wrote a blog entry about it. If you go to Juliana Zhou’s page on FB and see her note titled “VOICE” you’ll see it. I just thought you might be able to relate to her experience 🙂

    I really hope your voice will come back soon 🙂 On my end, I’m nursing the warts on my foot…not being able to wear ANY kind of closed-toe shoes SUCKS!! Let’s wish both of us a speedy recovery! See you this weekend ❤

Leave a Reply

